BUD SELIG, STEROIDS, BOB GIBSON

February 20, 2009

 

 

I understand the office of the MLB Commissioner issued a statement saying, in effect, that the Commissioner was unaware of steroid use by ballplayers until 1998.

I can almost hear him say, “That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.”

He must have thought that the only people using PAD’s were East-German swimmers, sprinters, weight lifters, and football linemen.

I’m not going to defend him, but I have to admit that I was on the same bus headed toward OZ. I didn’t think that baseball players would put anything in/on their bodies that might make them look like the opposite sex, cause them to lose the flexibility they needed to play baseball by bulking up, or possibly suffer an early death from a heart attack.

I really believed that the increased home run production was because of a livelier ball, or because the new parks being built were hitter-friendly band-boxes, or the fact that pitchers weren’t claiming the insides of the plate the way Bob Gibson did.

My thinking, however, started to waiver when small middle-infielders started to hit 30 homers and when pitchers whose velocity hovered in the 80’s during their careers started reaching the mid-90’s with regularity.

Now, you may ask if I should have written about this mess earlier. But I don’t think so. I don’t think it’s the place for a columnist to go bonkers over something outsize the foul-lines.

I’m going to quote Dr. Charles E. Yesals, a Professor of Health Policy at Penn State, who said, “People still vote with their wallets. To a large extent, especially the younger fans who don’t give a rats behind about the sacredness of baseball records, they don’t want to go through a moral struggle when they go to a ballgame”- neither do I.   

Leave a Reply

